Deviled Heaven on Bread

web_eggsaladsandwich2
Egg salad doesn’t usually generate much enthusiasm, especially when compared to it’s cousin, the deviled egg. I love egg salad, but I have to concede that it is often very bland: more like taking a large bite of mayonnaise than anything else. I’m putting an end to that with today’s lunch. You can’t see it in the photo, but I put bacon in my sandwich—pretty excited about that. I didn’t have any lettuce on hand, but that would be a great addition. I definitely need to add vegetables to this lunch… maybe I’ll get a V8 or something.

Deviled Egg Salad Sandwich

2 slices bacon
2 hardboiled eggs
2 tsp mayonnaise
1 tbsp Dijon mustard
1 tbsp pickle relish
salt and pepper to taste
bread
sandwich garnish (lettuce, tomato, pickle onion, etc.) – optional

Fry bacon in a skillet until crisp, then drain on paper towels. Set aside.

Peel the eggs and grate into a bowl. Add mayonnaise, mustard and relish. Combine ingredients with a fork. At this point, I was happy with my salad, but you might want to add some salt or pepper to taste.

Assemble the sandwich with egg salad, bacon and garnishes.

Clearly the key here is to put some pep in the egg salad’s step, but that could mean anything. Next time I might experiment with finely chopped onion and celery. Paprika or cayenne could also work well. Sriracha anyone?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Deviled Heaven on Bread”

  1. julixdoc Says:

    I really like egg salad, though I don’t know if I like relish. Maybe I can taste it sometime.
    xoxo

  2. Alicia Says:

    next time im in nyc we should look for the raw version of this!!

    • Houseboy Says:

      I’m imagining something like a cole slaw. We can look for it, but I think we’ll end up finding it in my kitchen!

  3. Jennie Says:

    Finally someone is defending egg salad! I will try this recipe this week.

Leave a Reply

